Kids are awesome!

I’ll be the first to admit, my children can be a little… shall we say active! They like to run about, shout, scream and generally have lots of loud fun.

One of the questions I have been asked most is:
Are they always like this?
Usually I answer “yes”
I was asked this recently and felt a little convicted because Really the answer is a resounding NO!

What others don’t see are the little things that make parenting both the best thing in the world and the worst!

They don’t see:-
The 3am mornings when they wake up scared
The 6am wake up when they just want a snuggle
The First bike ride, or the inevitable tears from the first fall
The tears that come when a friend has been mean
The laughs that come when they say something particularly funn
The tears when they come 9th out of 100 and not 1st
The smiles when they get a bedtime story, the sobs when they don’t.
The first nervous day at school, the excitement when they have had a successful day.
The parents evening that make you proud and the ones that make them nervous
All the other smiles and laughs that I can’t count, all the tears and sadness that I don’t want to remember bit feel like it was my own!

So the next time I’m asked “are they always like this?” I’m going to say with a smile “not always!”

Leave a Reply

